## "SOAR WITH THE EAGLES" AWARD

This award is to be presented annually\* in honor of Ruth Keeling to encourage the development of leadership in the United Education Profession. This is for a new leader who is starting to soar.

## **Nominee must:**

- 1. Be an active member whose presence and contribution of time, energy and/or wisdom within the past year has made a difference to the United Education Profession.
- 2. The recipient should be an outstanding new leader who is starting to soar.
- 3. Cannot be a current member of the Missouri NEA Board of Directors

The recipient will be given a full scholarship to the Missouri NEA Summer Academy the following summer. Nominations and letters of recommendation may be made and submitted by a local association, a governance council or an Active, ESP, Reserve, Student, Retired, Substitute, or Life member. Nominations and letters of recommendation should be made and submitted to the Missouri NEA President and the award winner will be determined by the Board of Directors. Nominations must be submitted in writing, giving supportive information. Deadline is February 15.

## "Soar with the Eagles" Award Winners

Year	Name	<u>Year</u>	Name
1982	Ruth Keeling	$\overline{2002}$	Allison Seitz
1983	Nancy Cramer	2003	John Michaud and Patrick Layden
1984	Linda Elliott	2004	Jan McClenahan
1985	Tom Bick	2005	Bobbi Aschwanden-Thomas
1986	Myrna McCain	2006	Gary Gee
1987	Betty Babcock	2007	Stephanie Price
1988	Jan Humphrey	2008	Derek Bailey
1989	Kathy Gerber	2009	Consuela Johnson
1990	Mike Burgess	2010	Marti Wilmoth
1991	Hugh Anderson	2011	Jonna Leonard
1992	Verna Boyd	2012	Susan McClintic and Linda Stoops
1993	Kathy Clark	2013	Mindy Nix
1994	Laura Maxwell	2014	Tresina Alvested
1995	Mary Thomasson		and Carrie Begemann
1996	Karen Recker	2015	David M. Hope
1997	Dorothy McElroy	2016	J. Eric Simmons
1998	Leanne Anderson	2017	Lacey N. Hochenauer
1999	Jeannette Goode	2018	Thomas Bamvakais
2000	Linda Callahan	2019	Tami Quinn
2001	Beverly Schroeder	2020	Monica Cifaldi
	•	2022	Alicia Kleoppel
			* *

<sup>\*</sup>If in any given year, in the judgment of the Board, there is no appropriate candidate, this award will not be given.

If a nomination received for the Soar with the Eagles award is more appropriate for the Shirley Cromer Leadership Award, the Board of Directors may hold the nomination and/or resubmit it to the appropriate award category. As long as nominees are still active members, they will be considered at that time. Nominators would be notified of this action.

Adopted, Missouri NEA Board of Directors 04/17/82 Revised 12/05/98, 09/07, 05/21/16, 4/27/19